The Gardiner Dairy Foundation has awarded eight scholarships as part of its flagship Farm Business Management Program (FBMP), which aims to develop the business management and leadership skills of Victorian dairy farmers.

The FBMP is managed and fully funded by the Gardiner Dairy Foundation, in partnership with Victorian Regional Development Programs, and offers placement in one of three courses: Rabobank Executive Development Program (EDP); Institute of Business Owners (IBO) – Australian Owner Manager Program; or the Australian Rural Leadership Program (ARLP), for which the successful scholar will be announced later this year.

Chief Executive of the Gardiner Dairy Foundation, Mary Harney, said that the scholarships will provide recipients with valuable development opportunities, that will benefit the Victorian dairy industry.

“It is essential for farmers to be equipped with the skills required to manage their own businesses and take control of their future. This is the resounding aim of the FBMP and we strongly encourage leadership developments, so as to give back to the dairy industry and widely spread the benefit,” said Ms Harney.

The successful recipients are as follows:
Rabobank EDP | IBO Australian Owner Manager Program
Gillian Hayman – GippsDairy | Tania Luckin – WestVic Dairy
Alistair Harris – WestVic Dairy | Eddie Dwyer – WestVic Dairy
Scott Fitzgerald – Murray Dairy | Matt Glowrey – Murray Dairy
Alex McArthur – GippsDairy | Liam Ryan – WestVic Dairy

FBMP scholarship recipient, Tania Luckin, said that she looks forward to having her current thinking challenged through her FMBP scholarship studies.

“The IBO Australian Owner Manager Program scholarship will undoubtedly provide me with an abundance of opportunities and I would like to thank the Gardiner Dairy Foundation for such an enriching opportunity.

“I encourage dairy farm owners, operators and managers to apply for the many wonderful initiatives that are available as they each offer unique and invaluable benefits,” said Tania Luckin.

The Gardiner Dairy Foundation has contributed $1 million to the FBMP over a three-year period as part of its commitment to People Development across the Victorian dairy industry.

Each FBMP scholar will also join the Australian Dairy Leadership Alumni (ADLA), which will provide extensive opportunities for further collaboration and personal development. ADLA alumni include FBMP scholars from the Rabobank EDP, IBO Owner Manager Program and the ARLP in mention, as well as the Nuffield Scholarships program and Horizon 2020.

ADLA alumni are invited to attend the annual ALDA Summit in December, which will see delegates explore cutting edge ideas and concepts that strengthen the ability of each member to contribute to the long-term future of the dairy industry.